
BICYCLE HELMET LAW OF NEW JERSEY 

New Jersey state law requires that children under the age of seventeen wear an approved 

bicycle helmet while riding a bicycle. The law also applies to any child in a restraining 

seat which is attached to the bicycle or in a trailer being towed by a bicycle. 

According to the New Jersey Head Injury Association, forty percent (40%) of all bike 

deaths involve children fourteen and under. Bike helmets reduce the risk of head injury 

by eighty-five percent (85%) and the risk of brain injury by ninety percent (90%). 

A youngster who violates this requirement shall be warned of the violation and the parent 

or legal guardian of that person may be fined up to $25 for the first offense, and up to 

$100 for a subsequent offense. 

Parent Tips for Buying Helmets: 

 Take your child with you to make sure the helmet fits properly. 

 The helmet should fit snugly, but comfortably, with the straps adjusted properly 

the helmet should not rock from side to side. 

 Check the helmet for approval from the "Snell Foundation" or the "American 

National Standards Institute" (ANSI). 

 Convince your child how important the helmet can be to his or her safety and 

insist they wear them. 

 Set a good example by wearing your own helmet when bicycling. 

 


